Calling All Clients and Therapists – BTC Survey Results Pt 1!

I have read several surveys that have enlightened me, made me laugh, given me pause, and comforted me that we all share so many common elements in our quest for wellness.

Our experiences with therapists or counselors has been a big source of conversation lately.

Behind the Couch took a survey about this. She hopes that “other clients ….will appreciate reading about [our] experiences

She also hopes that “therapists will read this and take something … they can use to better meet their clients’ needs.

Survey Questions and Responses

Here are the original questions for the survey, with a link to the client responses. These are the first set of responses, and BTC promises that more are to come.

First, a quick reminder of the questions:

1. How helpful do you think psychotherapy and/or counselling has been for you?

2. What is the one thing you wish you had known before you started?

3. What is the best/worst thing about your therapist?

4. What is the one thing your therapist could do to improve your experience of therapy?

5. What is the one piece of advice you would give to a friend/colleague who is thinking about seeing a therapist or counsellor?

Here are the responses so farClient Survey – Results.

β€” ∞ β€”

See also (oh boy, I shake my head at all I have written on this topic):

List of all posts
Changing therapists – my therapist responds
Changing therapists – what to consider
The ability to trust with DID in therapy and in real life
Lessons learned in a therapuetic relationship gone wrong
Milestones in treatment for trauma: everyone is a fingerprint
Therapist consultation for dissociative identity disorder
Comment: Importance of Physical Environment in Therapy

3 Comments»

  davidrochester wrote @

I think that BTC is actually a guy. πŸ™‚

  emilylonelygirl wrote @

Well, that’s one of the internet wonders – complete freedom to say what is on your mind with whatever degree of anonymity we wish. A place where what’s more important is in our heads and hearts rather than (heh heh) what’s in our pants. (Was that too rude???)

Ah the JOYS of DID and tel lack of editorial control this early in the morning.

I am actually amused at my assumption that people are a particular sex, age, etc. I was wondering the other day what people look like – if we all saw each other in a room, how would that change our internal impressions of each, of at all?

Thanks
Emily

  David Rochester wrote @

No, that wasn’t too rude at all

I also assumed that BTC was a woman, until he started referring recently to his other half, “Mrs. BTC.” I assumed he was a woman because I expect women to be smarter and more articulate and self-educating about therapy. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

