Those with DID steal money and drive recklessly

Sweeeet, another article online with some interesting misconceptions about DID. Okay folks, ready for this one? We are characterized by “stealing money, or driving recklessly, or abusing some other person.”

Excelllllent. Shall we have another go at it?

I’m not even bothering with the flame-proof suit. My inferno will trump your inferno, oh wee little Clueless Ones.

Below, I present Chapter 3 in the continuing saga of whack-jobs who expound upon the characteristics of those with DID. Recall Chapter 1: We are a “temporary disfavor of God”, and Chapter 2: Asking questions about DID is psychotic behavior.

In the learned post Health Disorder- Dissociative Identity Disorder, some unnamed idiot recommends someone with DID immediately consult a doctor to “minimize…the parameter of virulence.”

Wow. Big word.

Virulent implies extremely noxious, damaging, deleterious, disease-causing (pathogenic). Marked by a rapid, severe, and malignant course. Poisonous, venomous.

Oh, let’s sally down that path a bit more, shall we?

The word “virulence” comes from the Latin “virulentia” from “virus” meaning a slimy liquid, particularly one that is foul and poisonous.

<Not only a disfavor of god, but a foul poisonous one as well. Slimy. Excelllllent.>

But I digest.

Along the lines of the HR representative who recommended about an employee suspected of split personality, “get rid of him before he harms somebody,” I offer more from this well-researched post:

There are some other antisocial drives present in the DID affected persons like stealing money, or driving recklessly, or abusing some other person, which are contrary to his normal state of personality. The DID persons claim that there is another driver in his body who drags him to do the nuisance.

<Gaaak! What if that IS my “normal state of personality”?!? Gimme another drink. It’s almost noon.>

While the above is all fun and games, this pisses me off royally. He reports some symptoms of DID:

“…destructive though introvert in behavior, major sleep disorder, … phobia prone, eating disorder, frequent experience with hallucination, tendency for drug or alcohol abuse to indulge more escapism, etc.”

<Ah, screw all that DSM shit.>

And one more thing. Please note that this post is on an Herbal Remedies site.

<heh heh. And what herbal concoction do they recommend to rid the “DID affected person” of his slimy virulence? How ’bout we all snort some fresh wasabi for a quick reduction in symptoms of dissociation. It works, really. I saw it in Jackass the Movie. Except that it has the unanticipated side effect of slimy virulence all over the sushi bar.>

Post Script

I tried to submit a comment for the article but it doesn’t appear. So I tried to submit it again (thinking the first one went into bit-land), and I got a message saying I already submitted it. Sigh. We’ll see what happens.

Here was my comment:

While your discussion of how dissociative identity disorder can happen (often due to trauma) is reasonable, most of the rest of your article is incorrect and insulting.

You state:

“There are some other antisocial drives present in the DID affected persons like stealing money, or driving recklessly, or abusing some other person, which are contrary to his normal state of personality.”

Also, you state that symptoms include:

“…destructive though introvert in behavior, major sleep disorder, … phobia prone, eating disorder, frequent experience with hallucination, tendency for drug or alcohol abuse to indulge more escapism, etc.”

All of these statements are completely without merit, and are not supported by any clinical research. They are very insulting and demeaning. If you can find any real resources to back up these claims, send them to me at my website listed.

Let me share with you the truth, which IS supported with research.

Those of us with DID are often very highly functioning – you would have no idea we have DID. We are successful doctors, teachers, writers, and every possible profession you can imagine. If we steal, it is not due to DID. If we drive erratically, it is not due to DID. Yes, we have trauma and work hard to deal with the horror and how it affects our daily lives. But it makes us steal?!?

I am requesting that you either remove this article completely or rewrite it to remove all opinions. You do everyone a great disservice with your stereotypical and unfounded characterizations.

All you do is cement people’s incorrect assumptions that we are “abnormal or haunted by some super natural powers.”

If you would like to read peer-reviewed research, please see this site that contains nearly 200 references:
https://emilyfirstgirl.wordpress.com/references/

If you would like to read some real information about people with DID, visit my blog. I have DID. You will learn a lot, and have the basis for a real article about DID based on fact, not stereotypes and opinions.

https://emilyfirstgirl.wordpress.com/

Emily Camigwen

Table of Contents for all blog posts
Flame-Quenching “Move Along” Standard Disclaimer
Guest Book and Introductions
Meet Emily: the harassing, attention-seeking manipulative stalker and computer-crasher
Dear Ms. DID: Is someone with DID psychotic, a neurotic, or just mentally unfit?

14 Comments»

  behindthecouch wrote @

Oh goodness Emily where do you find this stuff?

Perhaps sending some of these people a copy of the English dictionary or some guidelines on how to string a sentence together would be a good start.

Perhaps you should send them a box of fresh, organic, stir-fried virulent slime?

Who knows but do please keep flaming them – the idiots must be exposed!

BTC.x

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

BTC – read my next post. It is a systemic disease, blog wide. But, at least we know we aren’t really that special… 😉

Depression – The “Emotional Bending of Female Mind

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

..I have been pondering your Special of the Day.

A box of fresh, organic, stir-fried virulent slime

With the eggs on top?

Organic is not vegan. THEN depending on the variety of all that, and I can’t keep them straight, at least one of them wouldn’t allow the egg.

I’m just not quite sure how to stir-fry slime. It’d be easier with chunks. Throw in some fresh basil or something.

  Jackie wrote @

Tears are streaming down my cheeks. Thanks girlfriend. I really REALLY needed to laugh that hard. Endorphins be free!

My sarcastic mind is leaping to what the vegan website might say, but I’m sure you’ll report back on that.

A memory popped into my mind of something my old boyfriend’s father had explained to me once when I was just 15. Everything can be cured by taking a good shit. His remedy for anything that ails ya. I ponder if he made that his life study.

  David wrote @

who drags him to do the nuisance.

I particularly liked that little gem. It almost sounds like some little-known 60s dance craze.

Betty: “Has Bobby dragged you to do the nuisance yet?”

Sally: “No, but he gave me his class ring to wear to homecoming!”

  behindthecouch wrote @

@ David – I read “do the nuisance” in the same way as “do the wild thing” but that’s just my dirty mind…

@ Emily – I suspect I have eaten stir-fried virulent slime from at least two east-london takeaways. Perhaps it’s an epidemic. Perhaps it’s an underground conspiracy.. I know! when we dissociate a part of ourselves stalks chinese takeaways secreting virulent slime left right and centre.

There. I solved the problem. My work here is done.

I’ll work up a vegan recipe in my next session and email it across to you 😉

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

Jackie – Most excellent shit-hood achieved this morning. And I feel fine. 🙂

David – “Dragged to do the nuisance” – I suspect that is all the way to home plate, apparently. Then why is it such a nuisance? Well, perhaps to the future “Good Wife” in training.

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

Okay, Kate is pissed off. In my comment back there about the eggs on the top, we were having a sarcasm conversation. Little did we know, her method of interjection, carets, is not accepted in comments as it is misinterpreted as incomplete HTML. So, you got a one-sided conversation which lost some of the punch. Perhaps I can drag Ms Pissy out to help me recall…

..I have been pondering your Special of the Day.

A box of fresh, organic, stir-fried virulent slime

With the eggs on top?

[No eggs, asshole, its supposed to be *organic*]

Organic is not vegan. THEN depending on the variety of all that, and I can’t keep them straight, at least one of them wouldn’t allow the egg.

[One of those nasty Chinese Thousand Year Old Eggs would go well bobbing around in there.]

I’m just not quite sure how to stir-fry slime. It’d be easier with the chunks. Throw in some fresh basil or something.

[I’d like mine with fava beans and a fine Chianti.]

  Cat wrote @

Unfortunately there are so many misconceptions about DID, but I think it yet again only serves to make us stronger. 🙂

Nice site, I plan to peruse more.

Thanks for visiting mine.

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

Hi Cat – welcome!

Yeah, might almost be fun to collect all the most ridiculous misconceptions and make a great work of satire out of them. But, of course, many idiots would take it as fact, and then some extremist religious group would adopt it as a tract of our evilness and initiate a purge. Sigh. But thanks!

  Tigerweave/Anna wrote @

Considering the sounds of the slime from the East-London takeaways, a purge might be a good idea?

Maybe that is what Dragged to do the Nuisance actually is?

🙂

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

Slime…nuisance…so funny and cool that we can make fun of them and also ourselves at the same time. Again, humor is so good! I wish everyone could be like this – … Say fine, I got upset, but it passed, and now I can joke about it. THAT is more healthy than most!

  kate1975 wrote @

I hate this kind of crap. I am feeling particularly virulent right about now.

Thanks for your post. Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

  Emily’s Camigwen wrote @

Yeah, it’s all insulting and annoying, but because it is so ridiculous, I find it sadly amusing. What pisses me off are the people who 1) believe it and 2) are decision-makers in any capacity.

Thanks for the reply and your strong opinions. They are welcomed here!
Cami


Leave a Reply

